Everyday Life With MS

Experience Tips Real Life Solutions

I’m Back – embarking on a NEW journey


I have been really struggling lately – fighting so many symptoms but mostly fatigue.  It’s an effort to do almost anything.  I am totally convinced that diet has so much to do with it.  As I wrote in earlier posts, I was attempting to follow a gluten-free diet.  Easier said than done.  At first I was really good and did well with it.  I began to feel better but then slipped into bad habits.

On Friday, I found the book “Healing Multiple Sclerosis   Diet, Detox, & Nutritional Makeover for Total Recovery” by Ann Boroch.  So much of what she wrote in her book made sense.  After reading her book I took a close hard look at my diet and realized what a disaster it was.  Loaded with sugar and processed foods it’s amazing my body is functioning at all. 

Our grocery stores are jam packed and jelly tight with fatal foods.  It’s no wonder that not only are we obese but are children are following right in our footsteps!  As a nation we have adopted such an unhealthy lifestyle and we are passing it down the generations. 

All of the recommendations in Ann Boroch’s book were amazing.  I have comitted to eating the right way for my body.  I am staying away from sugars, processed flours, red meats and porks.  That means my diet will consist of mostly chicken, fish, vegetables, fruit – but not a lot of fruit as it is a form of sugar and whole grains. 

Today I tried a new grain…Quinoa.  I’ve heard about it but never tried it.  This grain is awesome and has a nutty flavor.  I love nuts so this will end up being a staple in my home now. 

I expect that the first two weeks will be difficult as I detox my body and get rid of the sugar and caffeine.  I love my coffee but I love living life more so the sacrifice will be worth it!

I will keep you updated as I go along on this journey to better health.

xo

Lora

August 24, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a comment