Everyday Life With MS

Experience Tips Real Life Solutions

To Understand it You Have To Live It


Take a moment to live inside my body. It goes beyond the every day trials people may face such as being tired after a long day at work, getting the flu, not understanding a math problem or even spraining an ankle. Those trials have a beginning, a middle and an end. My MonSter is here to stay, living inside of me, decaying my body until the day I leave this earth.

Once there to experience your moment within my MonSter, you will experience:

A fatigue like no other

The constant poking of pins and needles growing to a crescendo of stabbing daggers and swords

Complete weakness – the inability to move, to help yourself to the bathroom or a glass of water when you so desperately need it

Confusion. Something you used to do with ease and perfection is now a struggle and riddled with error

Total isolation

When I am lucky enough to have a good day, I can be fun, happy, active, alert, and make total sense. Demands grow, people forget about the MonSter lurking, and waiting to time it’s next attack. The MonSter attack plan is a shrewd one. Taking liberty to attack at the most inopportune times – completely corrupting the peace that had settled in its place since the last attack.

The MonSter is never fair, understanding or selfless.

The MonSter is always selfish, spoiled, demanding, and hurtful.

If you know someone with MS, try to understand the battle and warfare taking place within their body. Understand their good days will not last forever and for that reason, make their good days all the more sweeter because the bad are just around the corner.

If you have MS and are not being heard, or don’t quite know how to explain what is going on, let me be your words. Share this with those who need to live in the battlefield of MS, just for a moment.

xo L

April 29, 2010 - Posted by | Everyday Life, Fatigue, multiple sclerosis | , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. A very descriptive commentary. I just read this to my 19 year old son to help him understand what it is like for his dad?
    Are you still trying the Paleo diet?

    Comment by Kelly Mitchell List | December 15, 2012 | Reply

    • Hi! I am glad it helped you. Sometimes it is so hard for others to really understand. When I read something that describes my trials and my successes I forward it to my husband – he sometimes doesn’t get it. No I haven’t been faithful to the Paleo diet…a New Year’s resolution for sure! It’s time for me to regain some control.

      Stay strong!
      Xo, Lora

      Comment by elle0568 | December 27, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

